2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Jim G. Lucas

Inducted: 1971

JIM G. LUCAS (1914-1970) became the most honored journalist from Oklahoma by covering three wars “up front” alongside American fighting men. He was the top Marine combat correspondent in the Pacific during World War II. As a Scripps-Howard war correspondent in Korea he won a Pulitzer Prize and the Ernie Pyle award. He covered the Vietnam War longer and more thoroughly than any other reporter, frequently risking his life to get his stories. Born in Checotah, he began his career on the Muskogee Daily Phoenix and achieved statewide fame on the Tulsa Tribune before heading for the battlefields. 

Jim G. Lucas
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall