Richard Lloyd Jones, Sr.

Inducted: 1971

RICHARD LLOYD JONES, SR. (1873-1963) crusading editor and publisher of the Tulsa Tribune, became the editorial giant of his era in Oklahoma by exposing public scandals during the 1920s and 1930s. The flaming editorial page dominated the personality of the paper, giving it and him a national prominence and influence. He developed this crusading spirit as an editorial writer for Collier’s magazine and transmitted it to his staff. The Tribune still retains the personality he gave it.