Earnest T. Hoberecht, Jr.

Inducted: 1972

EARNEST T. HOBERECHT, JR. (1918-1999) of Watonga spent more than 20 years in the Pacific and Asia as a war correspondent, bureau manager and vice president for United Press and its successor, United Press International. He gained his first fame covering World War II, including the Japanese surrender on the USS Missouri, and was the first U.S. correspondent to land in Japan in 1945. He promptly interviewed the Premier Tojo. He wrote several books translated into Japanese, including a multi-million circulation novel and Asia Is My Beat based on his personal experiences. After covering the Korean War he became UP general manager for Asia in 1951 and vice president in 1953. He retired from the UPI in 1966 to enter private business in Japan and publish four weekly newspapers in western Oklahoma.