2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Fayette Copeland

Inducted: 1972

FAYETTE COPELAND (1895-1961) was a journalism educator (1921-61) and director of the School of Journalism (1947-61) at the University of Oklahoma, doubling the teaching staff, adding several degree patterns, developing the largest journalism scholarship program in the nation and spearheading the fund drive for the journalism building bearing his name. As a student at OU in 1916 he was one of four students who changed the campus newspaper to a daily and named it the Oklahoma Daily. His biography of George Wilkins Kendall, the first war correspondent, received the 1943 Texas Institute of Letters award as the best book about Texas that year. A large number of Oklahoma journalists received their first training from him. 

Fayette Copeland
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall