Alice Lee Marriott

Inducted: 1973

ALICE LEE MARRIOTT (1910-1992) was among the most widely read female writers Oklahoma ever produced. A specialist in ethnology, the study of living cultures, she wrote at least 20 books and 32 major articles on history, folklore, biography, and personal reminiscences. Scholars rank her writing among the best of its kind, particularly the work on the cultures of American Indians. Her numerous honors range from Oklahoma Writer of the Year in 1957 to the Oklahoma Hall of Fame. Each year she sacrificed a portion of her writing time to pass on her skills to younger writers.