Ben Blackstock

Inducted: 1973

BEN BLACKSTOCK (1924-2010), manager of the Oklahoma Press Association for more than twenty years, made it into the finest and most successful organization of its kind in the world. He developed various annual short courses and clinics sponsored by the association to improve the quality of state newspapers. Other state press association managers elected him their national president in 1963, and patterned their programs after Oklahoma. Blackstock’s weekly column of political comment was published in half the newspapers of the state, making him one of the most widely read journalists in Oklahoma.