Joan Gilmore donates $30,000 for future hall of fame museum, scholarship

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

D.C. “Clancy” Frost

Inducted: 1973

D.C. “CLANCY” FROST (1908-1965) spent more than two decades proving his “independent country newspaper,” the Kiowa County Star-Review of Hobart, could achieve the same quality of reporting, editing and editorial excellence as a newspaper of any size. Eight times his newspaper won state fair sweepstakes for general excellence. He won the Oklahoma Editorial of the Year award for fighting federal aid to education, and the national Herrick Editorial Award for opposing the U.S. Army’s attempts to take over one-third of his county for a missile range. He served as president (1962-63) and long-time director of the Oklahoma Press Association.

D.C. “Clancy” Frost
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall

Assistant hall of fame director named

Assistant hall of fame director named

Amber Loomis was recently named as assistant hall of fame director. She will help Director Joe Hight in planning for the hall of fame induction and other activities on a contractual basis. Loomis, in her role as UCentral administrative specialist, has already worked...

read more