Douglas Edwards

Inducted: 1973

DOUGLAS EDWARDS (1917-1990) of Ada was the first major radio newsman to make the transition to television, in 1947. Since then he covered the world scene, and started anchoring a daily television news broadcast for CBS television network in 1950. He also broadcasted regularly for CBS radio. He first joined CBS radio in 1942, covering World War II in Europe and as chief of the CBS News Paris Bureau. The quality of his work earned him a George Foster Peabody Award.