Livestream the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame’s 50th Anniversary Gala at 6 p.m. Friday, May 14. 

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Joe W. McBride

Inducted: 1973

JOE W. McBRIDE (1904-1972) published Oklahoma newspapers for 40 years, the longest period with the Anadarko Daily News. In 1935 he formed a partnership with James C. Nance of Walters. Nance-McBride publications eventually owned 23 newspapers, the largest group in this region. He was a member of the Oklahoma Hall of Fame (1961) and president of the Oklahoma Press Association. A strong supporter of journalism education at the University of Oklahoma, he was instrumental in the construction of a new journalism building there in the 1950s.

Joe W. McBride
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2022 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Sunday, Ocober 31, 2021.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall

A Voice to the Voiceless

A Voice to the Voiceless

The University of Central Oklahoma is a proud contributor to the ethos of ethical and engaged citizenry in our country. Fulfilling our mission to educate students to recognize truth and learn to reason, we answer the call to step into the stream of freedom we so...

read more