Lee Hills

Inducted: 1973

LEE HILLS (1906-2000) started in journalism with the Oklahoma City Times and Oklahoma News in the 1920s and 1930s, then went on to win a Pulitzer prize in 1956. He was later president of Knight Newspapers, publisher of the Detroit Free Press and editor of the Miami Herald. He was also national president of many professional organizations: The International Press Institute, American Society of Newspaper Editors, The Associated Press Managing Editors, and Sigma Delta Chi.