Raymond H. Fields

Inducted: 1973

RAYMOND H. FIELDS (1897-1979), a pioneer newsman for Pontotoc County, Indian Territory, published newspapers in Oklahoma for half a century, including with the Guymon Herald. He was one of the best-known and respected state journalists, following the policy of his newspapers leading the way for civic betterment. He was chairman of the editorial committee for the Oklahoma American Legion Magazine and the national American Legion Magazine for many years.