Joan Gilmore donates $30,000 for future hall of fame museum, scholarship

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Harrington Wimberly

Inducted: 1974

HARRINGTON WIMBERLY (1900-1978) was editor and publisher of the Altus Times-Democrat from 1929 to 1966, and has published the Duncan Daily Banner since 1966. In the 1930’s he also managed all the daily newspapers in Oklahoma owned by the Eugene Pulliam organization. He has received various awards for his columns and editorials, and was Oklahoma director of the Office of War Information during World War II. He helped establish radio stations KRMG in Tulsa and KSHW in Altus after the war. He is past president of the Oklahoma Press Association (1937), the Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation and the Southern Newspaper Publishers Association.

Harrington Wimberly
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall

Assistant hall of fame director named

Assistant hall of fame director named

Amber Loomis was recently named as assistant hall of fame director. She will help Director Joe Hight in planning for the hall of fame induction and other activities on a contractual basis. Loomis, in her role as UCentral administrative specialist, has already worked...

read more