Ned Shepler

Inducted: 1974

NED SHEPLER (1896-1967) published the Lawton Constitution for half a century and the Lawton Morning Press for eighteen of those years, building them to 30,000 circulation newspapers. His newspapers won numerous awards while he helped in the corresponding growth of Lawton and southwest Oklahoma in that same period. A member of the Oklahoma Hall of Fame, he was on the board of directors of the Southern Newspapers Publishers Association, president of the Associated Press Editors of Oklahoma, and president of the Oklahoma Press Association.