Dr. Rex Harlow

Inducted: 1975

DR. REX HARLOW (1892-1993), a 1934 graduate of Central State University, worked on his family’s nationally famous Harlow’s Weekly (1915-17, 1919-36) while developing a public relations consultant business. He became the nation’s top expert in public relations, working as a consultant for 48 years. His 45 published books range from eight on public relations to six biographies. He established the American Council on Public Relations in 1940 and served as its first president, helped set up its predecessor, The Public Relations Society of America, established the Public Relations Department of Stanford University where he was the first professor of Public Relations in America with a regular faculty appointment; and founded and served as first editor of the Public Relations Journal.