2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Earl C. Hull

Inducted: 1975

EARL C. HULL (1895-1971) one of the founders of commercial radio broadcasting, established WKY in 1920 in Oklahoma City, the first radio station in Oklahoma and the third in the nation. He built the transmitter in his garage from tubes “borrowed” from the U. S. Army Signal Corps, where he learned radio broadcasting during World War I. A leader in the broadcasting field for the next 55 years, he operated WKY for nearly 20 years. Then he went to his hometown of Niagara Falls, New York, where he founded radio station WHLD and operated it until his death.

Earl C. Hull
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall