Edward K. Livermore, Sr.

Inducted: 1975

EDWARD K. LIVERMORE, SR. (1918-2014), long-time champion of the importance of small town newspapers, in 1972 became the first Oklahoman to serve as president of the National Newspaper Association, largest newspaper organization in the country with 6,000 member newspapers. He was the most active president in NNA history, touring the country on behalf of the organization. He was also president of the Oklahoma Press Association (1959-60). Owner and co-owner of four state newspapers (Claremore Daily Progress, Catoosa Times Herald, Sapulpa Daily Herald and the Edmond Sun-Booster), he was an outstanding publisher of the Progress from 1947 to 1959, and also the Sapulpa Daily Herald. He also owned the Sapulpa radio station.