2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Lea M. Nichols

Inducted: 1975

LEA M. NICHOLS (1888-1963) was a pioneer crusading Tulsa editor and pre-statehood supporter of making the Arkansas River a navigational channel to the sea. Later he became a nationally famous editor and publisher of the Bristow Record from 1905 to 1946. He helped organize the Oklahoma Press Association and later served as its president. The first Oklahoman to serve as president of the National Editorial Association, he wrote its code of ethics for small daily newspapers.

Lea M. Nichols
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall