Joan Gilmore donates $30,000 for future hall of fame museum, scholarship

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

William D. Little, Sr.

Inducted: 1975

WILLIAM D. LITTLE, SR. (1888-1966) was one of the most powerful and frequently quoted editorial writers in Oklahoma for half a century. He won so many awards for editorial writing that an accurate count is not possible. Joining the staff of the Ada Evening News in 1914, he bought controlling interest in 1921 and served as editor and publisher for forty-five years. More than ten years before the Oklahoma Supreme Court scandals in the 1960s he crusaded against the court for decisions he considered reprehensible. He also followed a strong conviction that a responsible newspaper helps shape a community.

William D. Little, Sr.
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall

Assistant hall of fame director named

Assistant hall of fame director named

Amber Loomis was recently named as assistant hall of fame director. She will help Director Joe Hight in planning for the hall of fame induction and other activities on a contractual basis. Loomis, in her role as UCentral administrative specialist, has already worked...

read more