2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Foster Harris

Inducted: 1976

FOSTER HARRIS (1903-1978), born near Sulphur in Indian Territory, was a freelance writer of 800 articles and short stories when he helped establish the University of Oklahoma professional writing program in 1937. Graduates of the program in the next 37 years published more than 400 books and 15,000 articles and stories. Harris later published two highly acclaimed books for writers. A 1925 graduate of OU, he worked for twelve years on the Daily Oklahoman, Wes-Tex Oil and Gas News in Amarillo, Western World oil and mining newspaper in Fort Worth, the Petroleum Daily in Dallas, the Fort Worth Press and the Des Moines (Iowa) Register. 

Foster Harris
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall