2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Gerald “Cowboy” Curtin

Inducted: 1976

GERALD “COWBOY” CURTIN (1907-1965), a country newspaper editor and publisher, trained many young journalists who went on to responsible positions in the profession. He was managing editor of the Guthrie Daily Leader (1935-37), sports writer for the Oklahoma News (1937-38), and editor and publisher of the Watonga Republican (1941-65). He was president of the Oklahoma Press Association (1952) and served the organization in many capacities.

Gerald “Cowboy” Curtin
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall