2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Hattie Mae Lachenmeyer

Inducted: 1976

HATTIE MAE LACHENMEYER (1901-1978) and her husband, O.H., worked as a team editing and publishing seven daily newspapers in Oklahoma, Texas and Louisiana, with the Cushing Daily Citizen (1927-53) as their home newspaper. They took several employees into partnership and eventual full ownership of newspapers. One of these former partners cites their greatest contribution to journalism as the ability to operate profitable newspapers that were clean, without sensationalism, and highly respected in their communities. After her husband’s death in 1953, Mrs. Lachenmeyer continued to publish the Citizen for another twelve years, and still writes a column and features for the newspaper. Among her numerous outstanding awards was the 1949 Theta Sigma Phi Matrix Table award as the woman journalist who rendered the greatest service to Oklahoma.

Hattie Mae Lachenmeyer
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall