2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

John F. Easley

Inducted: 1976

JOHN F. EASLEY (1872-1956) was a pioneer state journalist, starting his career on the Daily Ardmoreite in 1897. He purchased the nearly bankrupt newspaper in 1918 and made it a successful and high quality community daily for the next 38 years. He established a tradition of working for community growth and improvement, and opposition to corruption in public office, without sensationalism. In 1935 he established radio station KVSO of Ardmore. The Oklahoma Hall of Fame inducted him in 1937 and the University of Oklahoma selected him for its Distinguished Service Award in 1952. 

John F. Easley
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall