O.H. Lachenmeyer

Inducted: 1976

O.H. LACHENMEYER (1893-1953) and his wife, Hattie Mae, worked as a team editing and publishing seven daily newspapers in Oklahoma, Texas and Louisiana, with the Cushing Daily Citizen (1927-53) their home newspaper. They took several employees into partnership and eventual full ownership of newspapers. One of these former partners cited their greatest contribution to journalism as the ability to operate profitable newspapers that were clean, without sensationalism, and highly respected in their communities. Mr. Lachenmeyer was president of the Oklahoma Press Association (1947) and chairman of the Oklahoma Fish and Game Commission.