Joan Gilmore donates $30,000 for future hall of fame museum, scholarship

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Corbin Mark Sarchet

Inducted: 1977

CORBIN MARK SARCHET (1877-1971) earned the title “dean of Oklahoma newsmen” during a 60-year career that started with the Daily State Capital at Guthrie (1899-04). He became one of the best-known state newsmen during his freelance journalist years (1904-13), especially while covering the constitutional convention (1907) for the Daily Oklahoman, and for his coverage of Ponca City news for the Oklahoman (1919-34). He held various public relations and chamber of commerce jobs, and published the Shamrock Brogue while promoting the building of that city. He is credited with writing more feature and news stories about Oklahoma and Oklahomans than any other journalist.

Corbin Mark Sarchet
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall

Assistant hall of fame director named

Assistant hall of fame director named

Amber Loomis was recently named as assistant hall of fame director. She will help Director Joe Hight in planning for the hall of fame induction and other activities on a contractual basis. Loomis, in her role as UCentral administrative specialist, has already worked...

read more