2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Frosty Troy

Inducted: 1977

FROSTY TROY (1933-2017) won at least 15 state and national awards for journalistic excellence during more than 20 years of work on state newspapers, plus nomination for a Pulitzer Prize for his reporting in mental health. He worked on various state newspapers, including 13 years on the Tulsa Tribune (1957-70) where he rose to associate editor. He was named Oklahoma Newsman of the Year for breaking a road oil scandal in 1965. His copy has been reprinted in various national magazines, such as Time, True and Newsweek. He also owned and published the Oklahoma Observer.

Frosty Troy
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall