2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

George H. Evans

Inducted: 1977

GEORGE H. EVANS (1873-1954) became an editorial giant in the early days of Oklahoma, fighting for “single state” statehood and community betterment while editor and publisher of the Chickasha Daily Express for fifty years (1903-53). His campaigning earned him a spot as one of the state delegates to call on President Theodore Roosevelt and Congress in support of “single state” statehood. A founder of Oklahoma College for Women at Chickasha, he served as president of the Oklahoma Press Association (1907-08).

George H. Evans
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall