2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

James J. Kilpatrick

Inducted: 1977

JAMES J. KILPATRICK (1920-2010) is considered one of the top ten syndicated columnists in the nation. Native of Oklahoma City and a leading spokesman for conservatives, he worked on the Richmond (Va.) News Leader (1941-67). He became a nationally syndicated columnist in 1964 and a national television network political commentator in 1962. The author of five books, he holds the University of Missouri School of Journalism Medal of Honor for Distinguished Service in Journalism (1953). He has been chairman of the National Conference of Editorial Writers (1953-56) and holds the Outstanding Editorial Writer Award of The Society of Professional Journalists, Sigma Delta Chi (1954).

James J. Kilpatrick
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall