Watch the 2021 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame’s 50th Anniversary Induction Ceremony

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Paul R. Wade

Inducted: 1977

PAUL R. WADE (1907-1972) built the Elk City Daily News into a three-time state fair sweepstakes winner by following the creed that “no city is more productive than the newspaper that serves it.” He published the paper for 28 years (1934-72), learning his craft from the newspaper giants in the Eugene Pulliam publishing organization. His newspaper also was one of the first to use offset printing and the cold-type composition process. It once was selected as the best newspaper in the Southwest by the U.S. Soil Conservation Service.

Paul R. Wade
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2022 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Sunday, Ocober 31, 2021.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall