2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Wauhillau Lahay

Inducted: 1977

WAUHILLAU LAHAY (1909-1992) gained national fame as a Washington columnist for Scripps-Howard newspapers (1963-75), as the first Oklahoman to serve as president of the Washington Press Club (1973-74) and as the first woman on the governing board of Scripps-Howard Broadcasting. Starting her career on the Muskogee Daily Phoenix in 1924, she worked for the Oklahoma Publishing Co. (1928-41) as a reporter and columnist for the Oklahoman and Times, and as a broadcaster for WKY radio. She is listed in Who’s Who in America.

Wauhillau Lahay
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall