2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Edgar T. Bell

Inducted: 1978

EDGAR T. BELL (1893-1972) came to Oklahoma City in 1915 as advertising manager of the Oklahoma Farmer-Stockman. Ten years later he became general manager for the Oklahoma Publishing Co. and WKY radio, which he helped found. He retired from OPUBCO after 33 years and became station manager for KTOK (1950-53). Then he helped found Oklahoma City’s second television station, KWTV, in 1953. He was vice president and general manager until his second retirement in 1968.

Edgar T. Bell
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall