Ernest J. "Ernie" Schultz

Inducted: 1978

ERNEST J. “ERNIE” SCHULTZ (1930-2017) became national president of the Radio Television News Directors Association (1977-78) by the double route of a quarter-century of outstanding work as a television newsman and service to his various professional organizations. A 1951 Phi Delta Kappa graduate in radio news from the University of Oklahoma, he served 3 years as an officer with the U.S. Army in Korea. He began his broadcasting career with KGEO-TV in Enid (now KOCO-TV, Oklahoma City) in 1954. He worked with KTVY (formerly WKY-TV) in Oklahoma City as a reporter-photographer (1955-62), news director (1962-71), and director of information in charge of all non-entertainment programming (since 1970). He was president of the Oklahoma Associated Press Broadcasters and the Oklahoma City professional chapter of SPJ, SDX.