Watch the 2021 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame’s 50th Anniversary Induction Ceremony

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

George Hill

Inducted: 1978

GEORGE HILL (1915-1994) ranks among the all-time greats of Oklahoma country editors, with more than 40 years as editor and publisher. He worked on the Ardmore Morning Democrat, Ada Bulletin, and Johnston County Capital-Democrat in the 1930’s. After World War II service he became co-publisher and editor of the Capital-Democrat (1946-48) and began publishing the Coalgate Record-Register in 1949. The Record-Register has won more than 50 awards in the annual state fair newspaper competition, averaging two a year, more in editorial writing than any other category. He was president of the Oklahoma Press Association (1956-57). A country editor by choice, he spent his life being one of the best.

George Hill
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2022 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Sunday, Ocober 31, 2021.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall