2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Travis Walsh

Inducted: 1978

TRAVIS WALSH (1924-1976) worked on Texas newspapers and for the Associated Press before joining the Tulsa Daily World in 1946. For twenty years he worked as state capitol and Washington correspondent, editorial writer and managing editor. In 1974 he served as president of the Oklahoma Associated Press Managing Editors, and the Eastern Oklahoma Chapter of SPJ, SDX. Twice the National Conference of Christians and Jews presented him with awards for his activities in Human Relations. In 1972 he received the Beachy Musselman Award of the Oklahoma Press Association for outstanding contributions to newspaper journalism.

Travis Walsh
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall