2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Harry S. Culver

Inducted: 1979

HARRY S. CULVER (1922-2005) was international vice president-at-Iarge for the Newspaper Guild. He served four terms as secretary-treasurer and two terms as president of the Wire Service Guild. A native of Chickasha, he worked on the Anadarko Daily News (1947-48) and the Shawnee News-Star (1948-49) before joining United Press (now United Press International) in 1950. He headed the UPI Statehouse Bureau in Oklahoma City beginning in 1957, earning the praise of legislators and state officials for his accuracy and fairness in reporting. He has received two state and one national award for excellence in governmental and education reporting.

Harry S. Culver
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall