2022 OJHF honorees announced • 52nd annual induction ceremony, Thursday, April 28

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Phil Dessauer

Inducted: 1979

PHIL DESSAUER (1918-1997) is only the second Oklahoman to serve as national president of the Society of Professional Journalists, Sigma Delta Chi, doing so after nearly four decades of service to the organization. A BA and MA (1939) graduate of the University of Missouri, he worked on the Daily Oklahoman, the Oklahoma City Times and United Press for fifteen years before going to the Tulsa Daily World in 1954. He was capitol correspondent for five years, editorial writer, associate editor and columnist for fifteen years, and became managing editor in 1976. He syndicates two daily newspaper columns and is the author of a book on Oklahoma government.

Phil Dessauer
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, Ocober 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall