Watch the 2021 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame’s 50th Anniversary Induction Ceremony

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

S. Edward Lee

Inducted: 1979

S. EDWARD LEE (1886-1982) founded the Harper County Journal at Buffalo and published the paper for many decades. The paper holds countless state fair awards for excellence. He is the epitome of the country editor and publisher who works as long and hard for community betterment as he does for his own business. He helped develop every civic and youth program in his county, plus others statewide. A former president of the Oklahoma Press Association (1940-43) he helped get the “honest mistake” law passed in Oklahoma to protect the press.

S. Edward Lee
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2022 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Sunday, Ocober 31, 2021.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall