Watch the 2021 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame’s 50th Anniversary Induction Ceremony

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

E.L. Goodwin

Inducted: 1980

E.L. GOODWIN (1902-1978) editor and publisher of the Oklahoma Eagle of Tulsa for four decades, earned national respect with his life-long campaign for civil and human rights. His newspaper, the voice of black people in the Tulsa area, reached far beyond its intended market to influence both state and nation. His editorial voice often was neither popular nor safe, but he fought for equality with tenacity and courage.

E.L. Goodwin
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2022 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Sunday, Ocober 31, 2021.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall