2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Allan Muchmore

Inducted: 1981

ALLAN MUCHMORE (1915-1997) is the first person to ever serve as president of both major news media organizations, the Oklahoma Press Association and the Oklahoma Broadcasters Association. This double honor came from the high regard accorded him by both newspaper and broadcast professions. He was a partner in the Ponca City Daily News and WBBZ radio station in Ponca City. He devoted much of his time to community affairs, earning him the 1975 “Outstanding Citizen” award of the Ponca City Chamber of Commerce.

Allan Muchmore
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall