2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Bill Burchardt

Inducted: 1981

BILL BURCHARDT (1917-1992) made Oklahoma Today the top state magazine in the nation during his 22 years as editor (1957-79). Its many awards include the Trustees Award from the National Cowboy Hall of Fame and Western Heritage Center. He edited the four Will Rogers Centennial issues as his final achievement before retiring. A past president of the Western Writers of America, he published at least nine books. Two have won Teepee Awards from the Oklahoma Writers Federation as best novels of the year in the state. A graduate of Central State University, he earned a master’s degree from the University of Oklahoma and taught professional writing at CSU for ten years.

Bill Burchardt
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall