2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

C. Ray Shaw

Inducted: 1981

C. RAY SHAW (1934-2009) began his career on the Oklahoma City Times while a student at the University of Oklahoma in the early 1950’s. He worked with the Associated Press (1957-60) in Oklahoma City, Louisville and New York, the latter as news feature editor. He has been with Dow Jones publications and news services since 1960. Starting on the Wall Street Journal in 1960, he became managing editor of its Southwest Edition in Dallas in 1963. When the AP and Dow Jones joined to form a foreign business wire service in 1966, Shaw was named managing editor. In 1971 he moved up to assistant general manager of Dow Jones, vice president in 1973, executive vice president in 1977 and president in 1979. He was also director of Ottaway Newspapers, publishers of 20 general circulation dailies and nine Sunday newspapers.

C. Ray Shaw
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall