2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Glenn Shirley

Inducted: 1981

GLENN SHIRLEY (1916-2002) is one of Oklahoma’s most prolific professional writers, with 15 published books and 800 articles and short stories published in 100 different magazines. Among his books are “Law West of Fort Smith” and “Pawnee Bill,” both reprinted for two decades. He was co-founder and president of the Oklahoma Writers Federation and an officer of a wide range of writer and historian groups. He was also a Stillwater police captain (1936-57), and a prominent lecturer at writing short courses. For 10 years (1969-79) he was publications specialist and assistant director of the Oklahoma State University Press.

Glenn Shirley
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall