Joan Gilmore donates $30,000 for future hall of fame museum, scholarship

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Harry B. Rutledge

Inducted: 1981

HARRY B. RUTLEDGE (1900-1980) was one of the early graduates of the world’s first journalism school at the University of Missouri. He was the first full-time manager of the Oklahoma Press Association (1928-32), developing it into a major organization of state journalism. He also originated the Oklahoma Newspaper Contest as part of the state fair each year. The National Editorial Association also developed into a major national organization under his management (1932-36). He returned to Oklahoma in 1942 for various public relations and educational publishing jobs, retiring in 1976.

Harry B. Rutledge
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall

Assistant hall of fame director named

Assistant hall of fame director named

Amber Loomis was recently named as assistant hall of fame director. She will help Director Joe Hight in planning for the hall of fame induction and other activities on a contractual basis. Loomis, in her role as UCentral administrative specialist, has already worked...

read more