2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Lilian Newby

Inducted: 1981

LILIAN NEWBY (1943-1991) earned a prominent place in Oklahoma journalism history when she led the long and successful fight for a state shield law passed in 1974. A past president of the Oklahoma City professional chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists, Sigma Delta Chi, she worked on the Daily Oklahoman, Oklahoma City Times, Shawnee News-Star and Daily Ardmoreite, followed by four years as capitol correspondent for the Tulsa Tribune. She has been a congressional press secretary since 1977.

Lilian Newby
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall