Frank Hilton Greer

Inducted: 1982

FRANK HILTON GREER (1862-1933) organized the State Capital Company in 1889 and published three issues of the Oklahoma State Capital from Winfield, Kansas, before the April 22 Land Run. Upon moving to Guthrie at that time, he published three newspapers, the Daily State Capital, which was the official newspaper of Oklahoma Territory, as well as the Weekly State Capital and the Oklahoma Farmer. His printing company, the first in the state to buy a Linotype machine, printed many business and legal forms as well as books. He was a charter member and co-founder of the Oklahoma Territorial Press Association and the Oklahoma Historical Society. Greer designed the official Territorial Seal, which is now the center of the State Seal of Oklahoma.