James Clark Nance

Inducted: 1982

JAMES CLARK NANCE (1893-1984) is widely recognized as one of Oklahoma’s most influential legislators and publishers. Born and reared in Arkansas, he owned an interest in a number of Oklahoma newspapers and became publisher of the Purcell Register in 1935. Nance served nearly 40 years in the Oklahoma Legislature and was the only person to be both Senate pro tempore and Speaker of the House. He was president of the Oklahoma Press Association in 1933 and was named to the Oklahoma Hall of Fame in 1953. He has written many legislative laws, including the “Honest Mistake Law,” which have given strength to Oklahoma newspapers and have been models for newspaper laws across the country.