2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

John R. “Jack” Dyer

Inducted: 1982

JOHN R. “JACK” DYER (1931-1981) served as president of the Oklahoma Press Association, the Oklahoma AP Managing Editors, the Oklahoma City Gridiron Club, the Oklahoma Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists, Sigma Delta Chi, and the EI Reno Chamber of Commerce. After two years in the military, he was a reporter for a year at the Elk City News and then joined his father’s newspaper, the EI Reno Tribune, in 1956. He became the paper’s editor in 1966 and was named co-publisher ten years later, retaining the title of editor.

John R. “Jack” Dyer
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall