Joan Gilmore donates $30,000 for future hall of fame museum, scholarship

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Leslie Gordon Niblack

Inducted: 1982

LESLIE GORDON NIBLACK (1873-1948) was one of the state’s most prominent early-day journalists. An Indiana native, Niblack worked briefly for Chicago and Kentucky papers before becoming editor of the influential Guthrie Daily Leader in 1894. During the 31 years as Leader editor, he served in a variety of positions, including Democratic national committeeman, board member of the Oklahoma Historical Society, president of the Oklahoma Press Association, member of the Territorial Legislature and delegate to the Paris Peace Conference after World War I. He administered the oath of office to Gov. C. N. Haskell in 1907 and married Haskell’s daughter in 1909.

Leslie Gordon Niblack
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall

Assistant hall of fame director named

Assistant hall of fame director named

Amber Loomis was recently named as assistant hall of fame director. She will help Director Joe Hight in planning for the hall of fame induction and other activities on a contractual basis. Loomis, in her role as UCentral administrative specialist, has already worked...

read more