2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Lyndell Newton Williams

Inducted: 1982

LYNDELL NEWTON WILLIAMS (1923-2007) was executive vice president of the Texas Press Association, the nation’s largest press association. A native of Newcastle, Oklahoma, he held a number of posts, including assistant publisher, on the Holdenville Daily News before becoming assistant manager of the Oklahoma Press Association in 1961. Upon his leaving for Austin to head the TPA 13 years later, an Oklahoma publisher wrote, “He’s the only man we know who can see the light at the end of the tunnel when it’s midnight and there’s no moon.”

Lyndell Newton Williams
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall