2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Ralph “Waldo” Ellison

Inducted: 1982

RALPH “WALDO” ELLISON (1914-1994) began writing seriously in 1939 and is the author of short stories and essays in various journals and magazines. His 1952 novel, Invisible Man, won the National Book Award in 1953. In 1965, a poll of authors, critics and editors judged that novel “the most distinguished single work” published in the last 20 years. President Johnson gave him a Medal of Freedom in 1969. Ellison, born and reared in Oklahoma City, holds honorary degrees from twelve colleges and universities, and his numerous other awards, affiliations and trusteeships attest to his stature as a writer. He taught and lectured at institutions throughout this country and Europe and was professor emeritus of the humanities at New York University.

Ralph “Waldo” Ellison
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall