2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

J.L. Jennings

Inducted: 1983

J.L. JENNINGS (1915-2011) retired in 1982 as vice president of the Donrey Media Group’s central newspaper division after 32 years with Donrey and 57 years in the newspaper business. He started as a 10-year-old carrier for the Oklahoman and Times in Cordell. Jennings was instrumental in establishing Donrey’s Washington Bureau, which provided coverage for all Donrey companies. He has been president of the Oklahoma Press Association, the United Press International Editors of Oklahoma and the Bartlesville Chamber of Commerce. He served as a consultant for Donrey, as a civic leader in Bartlesville and as a member of the Oklahoma Tourism and Recreation Commission. 

J.L. Jennings
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall